Blackboard Q&A: What is ‘force completion’?

The Blackboard test setting to turn on “force completion” only allows a student one entry into a test. That’s different than allowing one “try” — force completion means that a student must complete a test after opening it (in the same browsing session).

Nor is force completion the same as “auto-submit,” which sends the test as-is to the gradebook after the timer runs out. With force completion on, students get kicked out of a test if there’s any connectivity loss or disruption (College of DuPage sums this up well) and can only complete it if the instructor resets the test (by ignoring or deleting that test attempt).

Like prohibit backtracking, this setting won’t “break” Blackboard, but it’s tricky, easy to mess up and we don’t recommend using  it.

Advertisements

Alex is online course support technician at IDS, working to support all online, hybrid and LMS-enhanced instructors and students in using Blackboard and several media servers. She's also the administrator for the MCC Blogs network. You can reach her at acgarrison@mccneb.edu.

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in Blackboard, Blackboard Learn for instructors
2 comments on “Blackboard Q&A: What is ‘force completion’?
  1. […] Note: MCC Blackboard Support does not endorse using force completion. […]

Let us know what you think

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: