Blackboard Quick Tip: Bulk Delete

Blackboard has an “additive approach” to importing course content — unlike ANGEL, if you import from an another LMS or another course, the process adds to what’s already in the course instead of replacing it.

So you may need to “blank out” an entire shell and start over with a fresh import from a Blackboard master. If that occurs, instead of just doing that input like in ANGEL, you’ll first need to use the Blackboard tool called Bulk Delete.

First, find the tool by looking under Control Panel > Packages and Utilities > Bulk Delete. Then select the materials you want to delete. “Content materials” refers to “content areas” or, in almost all MCC courses, the Lessons tab. Deleting this will wipe out everything under Lessons.

The other stuff is fairly self-explanatory. You could use this functionality to remove all announcements, say, if you wanted to start fresh.

bulkdelete

In this example, I’m deleting everything under “Lessons,” plus all the announcements and all the discussion forums.

In the confirmation area, you’ll just need to type in “Delete” and then click submit. That’s it!

Advertisements

Alex is online course support technician at IDS, working to support all online, hybrid and LMS-enhanced instructors and students in using Blackboard and several media servers. She's also the administrator for the MCC Blogs network. You can reach her at acgarrison@mccneb.edu.

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Blackboard, Blackboard Learn for instructors
5 comments on “Blackboard Quick Tip: Bulk Delete
  1. […] If you already have content in the Blackboard destination course, first “blank it out” using Bulk Delete. […]

  2. […] Once you have a just-in-case copy saved, clear out the content in the template/master course with bulk delete. […]

  3. […] Remember, course copy won’t replace existing content. So, if you accidentally move too much over, you’ll just add to the content in the destination course. But that’s why they made bulk delete. […]

  4. […] Remember, course copy won’t replace existing content. So, if you accidentally move too much over, you’ll just add to the content in the destination course. But that’s why they made bulk delete. […]

  5. […] If you already have content in the Blackboard destination course, first “blank it out” using Bulk Delete. […]

Let us know what you think

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: